Tags

, , ,

There are a lot of truths about Costco. First of all, I love that place!

I don’t know what it is about it that causes me to buy a gallon jar of mayo when we generally throw away the greater part of a pint jar because we haven’t used it up before it went bad. It just seems like a good idea when all those bottles are sitting there on the shelf in front of me. It’s not just that things are a bargain, either. A lot of times I can find a better deal at the grocery store, especially if there happens to be a coupon available on a certain item. But some things you just can’t argue with.

Hot dog buns spring to mind. (Not to your mind? Oh, well, read it anyway.) I can buy two dozen buns at the big C for $2.19, which is about what I pay for eight buns at the market. Of course, there are only two of us living in this house, and even though Hubby is a franks fanatic, I can’t really serve him a dinner of hot dogs more than maybe four times a week. After that I have to disguise them by cutting them into little pennies and sticking them in mac and cheese or something.

So, I found myself last week the proud owner of more than a dozen buns excess to requirements. What to do? Well, I pride myself on being inventive, so I undertook a new dish: bun pudding. It’s a whole lot like bread pudding, you see, but you use hot dog buns instead of bread. Isn’t that original? I chose to play it by ear and not bother looking up a recipe. I melted a cube of butter and slathered it over the buns in a casserole dish, them mixed up three eggs, some sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, raisins, and milk, and poured it all over the top. Super easy.

It baked up beautifully. Not only does it make a fine dessert, you can even (if your husband is as agreeable as mine) present the resulting dish at breakfast time, claiming it’s just deep-dish French toast. Actually, the next time I do this, I might add a little maple syrup just for flavoring…

I’ve been looking over the new Costco flyer, and it seems that they will have a discount on Hebrew National Franks during the next week. I’ll pick up a package of those, a package of buns, and maybe some maple syrup. I’ll let you know how it all comes out.

I’ll see you again, after the commercial.

