Tags

, , ,

It bit me again, today. The bug doesn’t come around as often as it used to, but when it does everything else kinds of gets shoved aside while I measure and stir and fiddle with the knobs on the cooktop, the oven, and the microwave all in one swoop of the kitchen.

Today the whole mess—and it was a mess—started, as it often does, with a trip around the backyard early in the morning. Once in a while it happens that you move a leaf and find treasures underneath. This time, it was cucumbers.

The easiest thing to do with cucumbers is to slice them and insert the pieces into a salad or sandwich, but that’s pretty boring, and it’s really only good if you have one or two of the long green things. When you suddenly find that the plant has been producing a great number of edibles behind your back, you have to step back and give a little thought to more creative uses.

Microwave pickles! One set of sweet, one set of dill, and one set of bread-and-butter pickles used up a good handful of cukes and left my whole house smelling like an Italian salad. I did try some pickles a couple of years ago, but I think I miscalculated the amount of vinegar a little bit, and I finally ended up tossing them after we all had our eyelashes curled and our lips puckered. This year, happily, all the batches are tasty, although the dills could have used a bit more garlic to my taste.

Dishwasher cycle number one followed. Remember that, because by the end of the day it might be hard to keep track.

Once the pickle caper was concluded, I seared a nice pot roast and set it to simmer with onions, potatoes, and carrots. I’m sorry to tell you that there was no drama there. I really did set the burner to SIM and not to HI. By dinnertime the roast was lovely, with enough left for hash tomorrow. Oh, yes, I baked an apple pie, too.

Dishwasher cycle number two. There was also a trip to the compost pile somewhere in there.

Tomorrow’s Memorial Day. We’ll no doubt get together with the kids for a barbecue, so I really ought to make something to go along with the hot dogs and hamburgers. I know! There’s always room for Jell-o! Cherry with fruit cocktail and bananas, of course. Wait a minute…I’m not sure, but I think one of the group doesn’t like bananas. I’ll make another dish with just plain raspberry Jell-o. And maybe a lime one with crushed pineapple. After all, they’ll still be good later in the week if we don’t eat them all tomorrow, right?

Dishwasher #3; banana skins to the wormy part of the compost. (They really seem to like bananas.)

It was while I was pulling out potatoes for the pot roast that I realized there are still quite a few of them in that sack I got at Costco a few days ago. I seem to recall having some extra milk, too, so why not do scalloped potatoes? No reason at all. The food processor always makes short work of slicing, and in a few minutes the dish was in the oven. Processor pieces were in the dishwasher. Potato skins were in the compost. I was in a state of frenzy. Damned cooking bug!

Everything finally settled down. Pickles got chilled, dinner got eaten, dishes got done, all’s right with the world. I’ll welcome the bug back again one of these days. In the meantime, I think I’ll just whip up a smoothie for a late-night treat. No cooking involved.

I’ll see you again, after the commercial.

 

 

