Tags

Internet news has a lot of power in our great land. It gets us information–or misinformation–with uncanny speed. Too bad the accuracy is not always so amazing. Most of the time, I have to say, I can feel comfortable that the gist of the story is probably there somewhere, but it would be nice to have more than just the gist.

But do they give us Too Much Information? Sometimes. And certainly too much repetition without giving us any new insights. I can deal with this, though. What bothers me more is the article that leaves out background that might very well alter my opinion of the players, maybe even change my view of the situation.

What brought this on, last week, was an article that a lady of Korean extraction is suing a retailer because of a perceived slight toward Asian people, having to do with a name on a receipt. Is this worth a million dollars? Yes, a million dollars. Well, I suppose it depends…There wasn’t enough background for a news reader to develop an informed opinion. Was there an error on the part of the employee? Did he fail to understand the person’s accent (and feel too embarrassed to ask again)? Was there some oral slight, or any other indication that the retail chain meant to defame a large portion of its customer base? Did the lady ask for an apology from the employee or the store at the time? I don’t know. There certainly isn’t TMI here.

I have little sympathy for people who bring frivolous lawsuits, and even less for the attorneys who represent them. I am very much in favor of resolving situations like this with an apology (if warranted) and a handshake. But I don’t have all the facts. I’ll never have all the facts. It isn’t a big enough story to bring out a series of articles so we can know what really happened.

If truth be known, I don’t always provide, even in my face-to-face conversations with people, the entire story behind each thing I say; and whether you not it’s on purpose, neither do you. It’s part of the human makeup. Can you even believe the mass of irrelevant information that would be spread around if we all told everything we know? So I take it all with a grain of sodium chloride (or some healthier alternative) and form the best opinions I can, and I can only hope that you do the same.

I’ll see you again, after the commercial.

