Tags

,

One of the you-don’t-really-need-it things that Hubby got me a few years back is truly a blessing, as it allows for pleasant and non-destructive conversation first thing in the morning. It’s a marvelous device that, with the push of a lever on the kitchen sink, instantly dispenses near-boiling water into my cup, thereby creating the early-riser’s friend, COFFEE–as long as I manage to drop a coffee-singles bag into the cup first. Okay, that’s really TWO things I could live without, but i will always have kind affection for the inventers of the coffee bag and the hot-water dispenser.

The dispenser isn’t vital, of course, because I can always take one minute and heat the water for my coffee in the microwave. Okay, THREE things. I suppose water heating is one of the main uses for the microwave among the general populace who might not have a hot-water-dispenser provider in residence. Around my house, though, the microwave is a life saver, or a least a pain saver, because we use it to heat corn bags.

Somewhere in these epistles I’ve no doubt spoken of corn bags before. With a few cupfuls of feed corn and a swatch of cotton fabric, you can create a thing of pure bliss. Sew up a rectangular pouch, fill it with corn, and stitch it closed. Easy. Pop it in the microwave for a couple of minutes, and apply it to whatever hurts. The morning back, the arthritic knee, the computer-generated achy neck, just find a sore spot and plop the bag against it. The beauty of this kind of heating pad is that the corn is just the right size so that you can squeeze the bag and manipulate all those kernels to fit just exactly where they feel best. A quick but important note: Microwaves are also great for popcorn, but this is definitely NOT the type of filling you want for your corn bag.

About once a year, usually just before the chill that comes with Thanksgiving weather, I haul out my multi-purpose, do-everything-you-can-think-of sewing machine (FOUR things) and my collection of 100% cotton print fabric. I spend a couple of days, stitching away, secure in the understanding that it doesn’t matter a bit if the topstitching is not exactly 1/4″ from the edge all the way around. The people who’ve acquired my corn bags care about how they feel, not how they look, although I have to say that the few men who’ve bought them tend to avoid the flowers and paisley in favor of John Deere tractors or jungle prints (unless, of course, they have talked their wives into buying the bags for them, in which case comfort wins out over fashion once again.)

Am I spoiled having all these unnecessary–but marvelous–conveniences? You’d better believe it! I’m not only spoiled, I’m pampered, cosseted, and over-indulged, and I love it!

I’ll see you again, after the commercial.

