Tags

,

Finally, the garage sale is over, a success on many counts, and I have time to get back to the fun stuff. Blogging has taken a back seat recently and I find myself in the embarrassing position of owing several people my reads and likes and comments and responses to awards. I’ll take care of that in the next few days, I promise. In the meantime, here’s a draft that I’ve left sitting for a while as I wait for the flash of illumination that will help me format it properly. Hasn’t happened, probably won’t; so, here it is regardless.

My friend Emma, whom I’ve never met except on these pages, writes a delighful blog called

In other words 

(I have no idea why this paragraph wants to format this way. I did warn you that I’m no good at this)  Hers is one of the few I follow because I can always count on a good read and usually an out-loud laugh.

A few days ago, she posted  Occasional? Once-in-a-while? Random? Sometimes? in which she bemoans the burden of trying to deal with the intimidatingly-named “Blog-a-day discovery.” Been there, done that.

At first, the delight of the blogging existence was in finding new voices to brighten my day. It didn’t take long for me to realize that there are a whole lot of voices out there clamoring for my attention, many of which are (gasp!) consistently better than my own. How depressing! And how wonderful.

What keeps me pecking away at the keyboard is an acknowledged wish to have someone else find the same kind of fun in my scribbles without meeting face-to-face. That way, I can occasionally enjoy a “like” or, even better, a comment from my readers without worrying about utter humiliation. I’ve noticed that comments, by and large, tend to be favorable–or left unwritten–and I have yet to see anybody’s posts geting a blatant “UNLIKE!”, even though some of them surely should. Fear of Failure is sort of pushed off to the perimeter when one is insulated from direct confrontation.

All of this leads to an embarrassing admission on my part. I not only don’t post a blog every day, I also don’t read blogs every day. For that reason alone, I know I miss a huge amount of good writing from talented people (along with an even greater amount of vulgar, poorly-phrased, poorly-spelled, parenthesis-laden copy, of course) and it’s all my own fault. I’m going to work at it, though. I’ll finish the first cup of coffee every day just to get my brain in gear, then I’ll pop into WordPress and go in search of the next blog to follow.

In the meantime, I’ll keep checking out the few people I already follow, because they are a joy in the morning. You know who you are.

I’ll see you again, after the commercial.

