We lost my mother early yesterday. It wasn’t unexpected at this point, but heart-wrenching nevertheless. Thank you to everyone who expressed concern and good wishes for us. It means a lot.

I’m amazed at the number of people who have spoken to us in the last month about how very much Mom affected their lives. With almost nothing invested except a smile and a willingness to actually care about the answer when she said, “Hi, how are you?” she made a person feel as if he were the most important being on earth at that moment. A true gift.

I’ll no doubt speak more about this lovely lady in the future. If nothing else, she always had fun with the tidbits I wrote and encouraged me to share. I’d expect nothing less than a lighning bolt from above if I failed to keep it up now that I’ve started.

So, to all of you, and especially to Mom, thanks.

I’ll see you again, after the commercial.

